The building was built in 1911 as the Japanese Army Infantry Second Regiment Dormitory. It was renamed the Lixian Building after its renovation in 1968 and served as a guest dormitory for returning scholars and visiting professors. The exterior of the building features an ancient Roman design with a continuous arch system along the outer perimeter. Today, the building houses the Institute of Art Studies. The architectural highlights of the building are the front entrance and the Roman-style portico. Historical buildings in the same area include the Da-Cheng Building and the Department of History Building.